Interior Image

Toi Derricotte & Cornelius Eady Chapbook Prize

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Launched in 2015, the annual Toi Derricotte & Cornelius Eady Chapbook Prize is dedicated to the discovery of exceptional chapbook-length manuscripts by Black poets, and is presented in collaboration with the O, Miami Poetry Festival and The Betsy – South Beach.

The deadline for 2019 has passed. The 2020 prize will open in August 2020.

2019 Winner

Selected by Danez Smith, Marissa Davis is the 2019 winner of the Toi Derricotte & Cornelius Eady Chapbook Prize for her manuscript My Name & Other Languages I Am Learning How to Speak, which will be published by Jai-Alai Books in spring 2020. Davis will receive $500, publication by Jai-Alai Books, a week-long residency at The Writers Room at The Betsy – South Beach and ten complimentary copies of the chapbook. Smith notes that Davis’ manuscript “exist brightly in the canon of Black femme poets.”

Marissa Davis is a poet and translator from Paducah, Kentucky, currently residing in Brooklyn, New York. Her original poems have appeared in The Carolina Quarterly, Rattle, The Iowa Review, Sundog Lit, Raconteur and Peach Mag, among other journals; her translations are forthcoming in Ezra and Mid-American Review. She received a BA from Vanderbilt University and is currently pursuing an MFA in poetry at New York University as a Rona Jaffe fellow, where she also serves as an assistant translations editor for Washington Square ReviewMy Name & Other Languages I Am Learning How to Speak is her first chapbook.

Honorable Mentions:

The Animal of Memory by rebecca brown
Heirs by Ajanae Dawkins
Rhapsody by Christell Victoria Roach
Now Like Knew by Eric Shorter
Nobody Knows My Soul by Jorrell Watkins

Funders: O, Miami; Jai-Alai Books; The Betsy – South Beach